You’ve Heard of Marmitegate but Worse is To Come

1dests

I remember the night of the Brexit vote. It was a truly frightening time for me. I had no idea what was going to happen, I had no idea what my future would be like or what the country would be like. David Cameron was busy yammering on about something and Boris was too.

“What am I going to do?” I said, “Surely if we leave the EU I will be doomed!”

Then the next fateful day and my greatest fear came to being. Our nation’s finest product, our nation’s most wonderful invention, conceived of in London’s Brixton area, was cut off from its main production area.

Reggae Reggae Sauce is not produced in the UK but in a factory in Poland. Lord protect us. The lifeblood of chorizo pastas and barbecues everywhere is at risk. With Brexit Reggae Reggae Sauce will surely become extinct from our shelves.

How will we get hold of Reggae Reggae Sauce now? How much will the prices rise? How much uncertainty do I really need in my life? How will we survive without this product? How will we possible be able to have that sweet blend of Caribbean flavours in our food? How will we do what it says on the bottle?

150px-reggae_reggae_sauce
“Put Some Music in Your Food”

Oh silence is not golden it is dark!

For the un-itiated I will let Levi Roots site do most of the talking but once again I need to educate you. Reggae Reggae Sauce is a sauce created by Levi Roots, a Reggae musician and entrepenureal chef who made his name on the TV series Dragon’s Den in 2007. His unique blend of spices created a sweet, tangy, yet slightly peppery product that is ideal for Caribbean dishes but is extremely multi-purpose as a condiment and a staple sauce.

spicychorizopennepas_84044_16x9Of my own experience and recipes I can tell you life won’t be the same. Here’s one thing I’ll tell you won’t be the same without it. Chorizo pasta. How will we possibly be able to add that crowning glory to this already beautiful dish? The sourness of the tomatoes and the sweetness of the sauce along with the meatier taste of the chorizo are accentuated beautifully by Reggae Reggae Sauce. Alternatively it’s a superb addition to barbecued chicken. How will barbecues ever be the same Theresa May? Have you declared war on barbecues?

Oh cry beloved country! This is what we have reduced ourselves to, a Reggae Reggae Sauce-less world! First the great marmite scare of 2016, who knows? A greater catastrophe may yet be looming over the horizon. I am already panic buying, creating an ark of Reggae Reggae Sauce lest we be thrown into darkness.

I have experienced much hate over the years for my love of Reggae Reggae Sauce. I attempt to sing it’s praises and I am shot down, I attempt to tell the world of this joyful product and I am left in the dust. The unfaithful do not have eyes to see so they are worthless to me! Yet soon they may yet see their folly. Repent all ye who do not appreciate putting music into your food! Don’t be one of the unbelievers when judgement comes and all Reggae Reggae Sauce is abolished from Britain!

We may yet live in a reggae reggae sauceless Britain. Silence will reign, no longer shall we be able to put a little music in our food.

Leave a Reply

